Central Research Institute
for Machine Building
EN RU

The Apollo-Soyuz Test Project

On May 24, 1972, the USSR and the United States signed an Agreement Concerning Cooperation in the Exploration and Use of Outer Space For Peaceful Purposes committing the parties to the launch of Apollo Soyuz Test Project – ASTP.

By the start of the work on the ASTP Program, the Central Design Bureau of Experimental Machine-building (TsKBEM) specialists, their subcontractors and TsNIImash TsUP employees had developed volumes of documentation with detailed and comprehensive description of all the flight control loop elements: interaction of the elements given, as well as of Russian TsUP and American MCC’s; integrated training programs; potential onboard emergency situations, emergency egress procedures. Operational crew manual had been developed specifying their functions (responsibilities) and description of actions to be taken in case of any particular contingencies.

NII-88 Coordination and Computing Center/TsNIImash had not had the required experience of the fully-featured MCC for the manned spacecraft control by 1973, and certainly not for the program similar in complexity and extent of responsibility to the ASTP program. Most certainly, the center required to be certified to execute such a program. Insight into the American MCC revealed the fact that they were highly focused on specialists’ trainings test-practicing various situations that could potentially be faced during the flight.

In 1973, TsNIImash Coordination and Computing Center was unclassified upon the country’s leadership decision and passed the International Assurance being registered as Soviet MCC. As of July 1, 1975, MCC’s manpower reached 1960 employees. Operational crew consisted of 3 shifts.

USSR cosmonauts Alexey Leonov and Valery Kubasov, US astronauts Thomas Stafford, Vance Brand and Donald Slayton took part in the flight conducted on July 15 – 21, 1975. Their in-flight responsibilities were as follows:
  • A. Leonov – Soyuz-19 Commander;
  • V. Kubasov – Soyuz-19 Flight Engineer;
  • T.Stafford – Apollo Commander;
  • V. Brand – Apollo Commander Module Pilot;
  • D. Slayton – Apollo Docking Module Pilot.

Apollo-Soyuz Test Project Flight Participants

Apollo-Soyuz Test Project Flight Participants


The joint Soyuz-19 and Apollo mission involved performance of the main program tasks, including rendezvous and docking of the spacecraft, crew members’ transfer from one spacecraft to the other, interaction of the Mission Control Centers and crews, as well as joint scientific experiments (“Zone-Forming Fungi Experiment”, “Microbial Exchange Experiment”, “Multipurpose Furnace Experiment”, “Artificial Solar Eclipse Experiment”, “Ultraviolet Absorption Experiment”).

TsNIImash was awarded the Order of October Revolution for the contribution to the successful execution of the ASTP Program.



The ASTP Program opened the door to the Mission Control Center.

First Space International Docking Certificate

First Space International Docking Certificate


TsNIImash work performed in the frame of the ASTP Program (Soyuz-Apollo Test Flight):
  • investigation of thrusters plume effect;
  • gas-dynamic characterization of the engines;
  • Soyuz-M spacecraft structural tests;
  • ballistic support;
  • mission control at MCC.

On January 15, 1976, TsNIImash was awarded the Order of October Revolution by the Presidium of the Supreme Soviet of the USSR for the efforts taken in the development and manufacturing of new equipment.

Центральный научно-исследовательский
институт машиностроения
EN RU

Проект «Союз-Аполлон»

24 мая 1972 г. в Москве было подписано «Соглашение между Союзом Советских Социалистических Республик и Соединёнными Штатами Америки о сотрудничестве в исследовании и использовании космического пространства в мирных целях», которое положило начало экспериментальному проекту «Союз-Аполлон» - ЭПАС.

К началу работ по программе ЭПАС специалистами ЦКБЭМ, их смежниками и сотрудниками Центра управления полётами (ЦУП) ЦНИИмаш были созданы тома документов, в которых подробно, наглядно и всесторонне были описаны все элементы контура управления полётом: схемы взаимодействия упомянутых элементов, а также советского и американского ЦУП; программы комплексных тренировок; возможные аварийные ситуации на борту; порядок выхода из них. Для участников боевого расчёта была написана инструкция с изложением его должностных обязанностей (ответственности) и описания действий при возникновении тех или иных нештатных случаев. 

Координационно-вычислительный центр НИИ-88/ЦНИИмаш до 1973 г. не имел необходимого опыта в качестве полноценного ЦУП пилотируемых космических кораблей, тем более по программе, аналогичной по сложности и ответственности программе ЭПАС. Конечно, перед началом выполнения такой программы требовалось апробировать центр. Знакомство с американским ЦУП показало, что там уделяют очень большое внимание тренировкам специалистов, отрабатывая самые различные возможные ситуации, которые могут возникнуть в процессе полёта. 

В 1973 г. Координационно-вычислительный центр ЦНИИмаш решением руководства страны был рассекречен и получил международную аккредитацию как советский ЦУП. На 1 июля 1975 г. численность персонала ЦУПа составляла 1960 человек. Состав боевого расчёта состоял из трёх смен.

В полёте, который проходил с 15 по 21 июля 1975 г., участвовали космонавты Алексей Архипович Леонов и Валерий Николаевич Кубасов (СССР), астронавты Томас Стаффорд, Вэнс Бранд и Дональд Слейтон (США). Распределение обязанностей между ними в полёте было следующим:
  • А.А.Леонов – командир корабля «Союз-19»;
  • В.Н.Кубасов – бортинженер корабля «Союз-19»;
  • Т.Стаффорд – командир корабля «Аполлон»;
  • В.Бранд – пилот командного модуля корабля «Аполлон»;
  • Д.Слейтон – пилот стыковочного модуля корабля «Аполлон».

Участники полета

Участники полёта по проекту «Союз-Аполлон»


В процессе совместного полёта кораблей «Союз-19» и «Аполлон» были выполнены основные задачи программы, в том числе сближение и стыковка кораблей, переходы членов экипажей из корабля в корабль, взаимодействие Центров управления полётом и экипажей, а также совместные научные эксперименты («Зонообразующие грибки», «Микробный обмен», «Универсальная печь», «Искусственное солнечное затмение», «Ультрафиолетовое поглощение»).

ЦНИИмаш за вклад в успешную реализацию программы ЭПАС был награждён орденом Октябрьской Революции.

В ГЗУ
ЦУП Союз-Аполлон
На фоне Земли

Программа ЭПАС дала путёвку в жизнь Центру управления полётами

договор Союз-Аполлон.jpg

Свидетельство о первой международной стыковке в космосе


Работы ЦНИИмаш по программе «ЭПАС» (экспериментальный полёт "Союз-Аполлон"):

  • исследование воздействий струй двигателей управления;
  • определение газодинамических характеристик двигателей;
  • прочностные испытания корабля «Союз М»;
  • баллистическое обеспечение;
  • управление полётом из ЦУПа.

15 января 1976 г. Президиум Верховного Совета СССР за заслуги в создании и производстве новой техники наградил ЦНИИмаш орденом Октябрьской Революции.

Грамота

Орден Октябрьской революции