Central Research Institute
of Machine Building
EN RU

The Mir Space Station

The Mir Space Station is one of the most prominent achievements of national rocket and space industry.

The fundamental space station design principles having been tested over a 15-year period of operation in space turned into classical ones in the history of international space science, and the development of the International Space Station took full advantage thereof.


The Mir Space Station

The Mir Space Station

TsNIImash performed the following work:

  • vibration tests of Core Module, Kvant-1, Kvant-2, Kristall, Spektr, and Priroda modules;
  • development and testing of new materials, coatings and lubricants ensuring prolonged operation of equipment in vacuum under various temperature conditions;
  • estimation of the lifetime used to ensure extension of the space station operation lifetime;
  • organization and realization of the applied scientific research program at the Mir Space Station;
  • the space station mission control;
  • implementation of technical and organizational activities plan of the Mir Space Station final mission stage and organization of planned station descent, particularly, work on calculation of space station thermal destruction and determination of impact areas of its individual parts.

In the frame of the Mir Space Station program, TsNIImash worked on development and testing of new materials, coatings and lubricants ensuring prolonged operation of equipment in vacuum under various temperature conditions; performed calculations of significant effects on the station: station docking with spacecraft, control system operation, as well as crew activities; performed space station mission control and organization and realization of the applied scientific research program on Mir.

Data obtained was used for issuing of annual reports on the Mir Space Station structure lifetime and feasibility of its operational lifetime extension from 1992 up to the end of the mission (2001).

During the period from 1986 to the space station disposal in 2001, TsNIImash TsUP maintained its mission. During this very period the following dockings were conducted: 29 dockings with Soyuz manned spacecraft station, 65 dockings with Progress cargo spacecraft, 5 dockings with modules (Kvant-1, Kvant-2, Kristall, Spektr, Priroda), 7 dockings with the US shuttle spacecraft as per the Mir-Shuttle Program. TsNIImash TsUP conducted all the Soyuz spacecraft landings and Progress spacecraft descents, as well.


The Mir Space Station

The Mir Space Station

Центральный научно-исследовательский
институт машиностроения
EN RU

Орбитальная станция «Мир»

Орбитальный комплекс (ОК) «Мир» является одним из выдающихся достижений отечественной ракетно-космической промышленности.

Основополагающие принципы, заложенные в его конструкцию и проверенные в процессе 15-летней эксплуатации в космосе, стали в истории мировой космонавтики классическими и были полностью использованы при создании Международной космической станции.


Орбитальный комплекс «Мир»

Орбитальный комплекс «Мир»

ЦНИИмаш выполнил следующие работы:

  • испытания на вибропрочность базового блока, модулей «Квант», «Квант-2», «Кристалл», «Спектр», «Природа»;
  • разработка и испытания новых материалов, покрытий и смазок, обеспечивающих длительную работу механизмов в вакууме при различных температурах;
  • оценка израсходованного ресурса для обеспечения возможности продления срока эксплуатации станции;
  • организация осуществления программы научно-прикладных исследований на комплексе «Мир»;
  • управление полётом орбитального комплекса;
  • реализация плана организационно-технических мероприятий по обеспечению заключительного этапа полёта орбитального комплекса «Мир» и организации запланированного спуска, в частности, проведены расчёты теплового разрушения станции и определены районы падения отдельных её частей.

По программе ОК «Мир» в ЦНИИмаш проводились разработка и испытания новых материалов, покрытий и смазок, обеспечивающих длительную работу механизмов в вакууме при различных температурах; рассчитывались все существенные воздействия на станцию: её стыковки с космическими аппаратами, работа системы управления, а также деятельность экипажа; проводились управление полётом орбитального комплекса и организация осуществления программы научно-прикладных исследований на комплексе «Мир». 

Полученные материалы послужили основой для выдачи ежегодных заключений о механическом ресурсе конструкции орбитальной станции «Мир» и возможности продления срока её эксплуатации с 1992 г. до завершения полёта (2001).

Начиная с 1986 года и до момента затопления станции 2001 г. ЦУП ЦНИИмаш обеспечивал её полёт. За это время было проведено: 29 стыковок со станцией пилотируемых кораблей «Союз», 65 – транспортных кораблей «Прогресс», 5 – модулей («Квант», «Квант 2», «Кристалл», «Спектр», «Природа»), 7 – американских многоразовых кораблей в соответствии с международной программой «Мир»-«Шаттл». Также ЦУП ЦНИИМаш обеспечил все посадки кораблей «Союз» и спуски кораблей «Прогресс».


Орбитальный комплекс «Мир»

Орбитальный комплекс «Мир»