Central Research Institute
of Machine Building
EN RU

Reusable space transportation system "Energy-Buran"

On November 15, 1988, the reusable space transportation system (RSTS) Energia-Buran was launched at Baikonur Cosmodrome. In 205 minutes the Buran orbiter after two revolutions around the Earth, landed in fine-tolerance automatic mode at the same cosmodrome.

The development of the RSTS “Energy-Buran” was the most formidable challenge and monumental R&D of the 20th century in the history of Russian cosmonautics.

Cooperation included more than 1,200 organizations of 70 ministries and departments of the USSR, significant scientific and industrial centers. Over one million people worked under this program.

TsNIImash became the headquarters of the Interdepartmental Commission of Experts (IEC) for development and testing of RSTS, chaired by Yu.A. Mozzhorin. TsNIImash performed the integrator functions for the structural, dynamic, aerogasdynamic studies of the RSTS, for heat exchange and heat protection. The Institute has provided: expertise of the reliability of elements and the sufficiency of their ground testing; preparation of TsUP and organization of the control of "Buran" SC.

An identical in design model of the reusable space system

An identical in design model of the reusable space system "Energy-Buran" in the dynamic tests rig. Scale 1:10. Dimensions: “Energy” carrier model - length 6 m, maximum lateral size - 1.8 m, “Buran” orbital vehicle model - length - 3.64 m, wingspan - 2.4 m

Центральный научно-исследовательский
институт машиностроения
EN RU

Многоразовая транспортная космическая система «Энергия-Буран»

15 ноября 1988 г. многоразовая транспортная космическая система (МТКС) «Энергия-Буран» стартовала с космодрома Байконур, и через 205 минут орбитальный корабль (ОК) «Буран», сделав два оборота вокруг Земли, с высокой точностью совершил посадку в автоматическом режиме на том же космодроме.

В истории отечественной космонавтики создание МТКС «Энергия-Буран» было самой крупной и сверхсложной научно-технической разработкой XX века.

Кооперация исполнителей насчитывала более 1200 организаций 70 министерств и ведомств СССР, были задействованы крупные научные и производственные центры страны. По этой программе работало свыше миллиона человек.

ЦНИИмаш стал штабом Межведомственной экспертной комиссии по созданию и испытаниям МТКС под председательством Ю.А. Мозжорина. ЦНИИмаш выполнял функции головной организации по прочностным, динамическим, аэрогазодинамическим исследованиям МТКС, по теплообмену и теплозащите. Институт обеспечил: экспертизу надёжности элементов и достаточность их наземной отработки; подготовку ЦУПа и организацию управления ОК "Буран".

Конструктивно-подобная модель многоразовой космической системы «Энергия-Буран» в стапеле динамических испытаний

Конструктивно-подобная модель многоразовой космической системы «Энергия-Буран» в стапеле динамических испытаний. Масштаб 1:10. Размеры: модели носителя «Энергия» - длина 6 м, максимальный поперечный размер - 1,8 м, модели орбитального корабля «Буран» - длина - 3,64 м, размах крыльев - 2,4 м